Heart of the South West Joint Committee



Friday 1 October 2021 12.00 pm

To: The Members of the Heart of the South West Joint Committee

Nominated Members

Cllr John Hart	Leader - Devon County Council
Cllr David Fothergill	Leader - Somerset County Council
Cllr Nick Kelly	Leader - Plymouth City Council
Cllr Steve Darling	Leader - Torbay Council
Cllr Philip Bialyk	Leader - Exeter City Council
Cllr Bob Deed	Leader - Mid Devon District Council
Cllr Judy Pearce	Leader - South Hams District Council
Cllr Ken James	Leader - Torridge District Council
Cllr Neil Jory	Leader - West Devon Borough Council
Cllr Val Keitch	Leader - South Somerset District Council
Cllr Frederica Smith-Roberts	Leader - Somerset West & Taunton Council
Cllr Andrea Davis	Deputy Chairman - Exmoor National Park Authority
Cllr Gordon Hook	Leader – Teignbridge District Council
Cllr Duncan McGinty	Leader – Sedgemoor District Council
Cllr David Worden	Leader – North Devon District Council
Ms Pamela Woods	Chairman – Dartmoor National Park Authority
Cllr Ros Wyke	Leader – Mendip District Council
Cllr Paul Arnott	Leader – East Devon District Council

Nominated Substitute Members

Cllr Paul Hayward	East Devon District Council	
Cllr Rachel Sutton	Exeter City Council	
Cllr Peter Smith	Plymouth City Council	
Cllr Marcus Kravis	Somerset West & Taunton Council	
Cllr Malcolm Prowse	North Devon District Council	
Cllr Lois Samuel	West Devon District Council	
Cllr John Clark	South Somerset District Council	
Cllr Alistair Dewhirst	Teignbridge District Council	
Cllr Gill Slocombe	Sedgemoor District Council	
Cllr Claire Hodson	Torridge District Council	
Andrew Cooper	Secretary of State Appointee - Dartmoor National	
	Park Authority	
Cllr Hilary Bastone	South Hams District Council	
Robin Milton	Exmoor National Park Authority	
Cllr Luke Taylor	Mid Devon District Council	
Cllr Darren Cowell	Torbay Council	
Cllr David Hall	Somerset County Council	
Cllr Liz Leyshon	Mendip District Council	
Cllr James McInnes	Devon County Council	

Non-voting Members

Karl Tucker	Chairman - Heart of the South West
	Local Enterprise Partnership

Issued By Scott Wooldridge, Strategic Manager - Governance and Risk – 23 September 2021

For further information about the meeting, please contact Scott Wooldridge, Democratic Services, Somerset County Council or 01823 357628

Guidance about procedures at the meeting follows the printed agenda.

This meeting will be open to the public and press, subject to the passing of any resolution under Section 100A (4) of the Local Government Act 1972.

This agenda and the attached reports and background papers are available on request prior to the meeting in large print, Braille, audio tape & disc and can be translated into different languages. They can also be accessed via the council's website on www.somerset.gov.uk/agendasandpapers











RNID typetalk

AGENDA

Item Heart of the South West Joint Committee - 12.00 pm Friday 1 October 2021

Guidance Notes

1 Apologies for Absence

To be reported and recorded.

2 Election of Chair

To elect a Chair for the municipal year.

3 Appointment of Vice-Chair

To appoint a Vice-Chair for the municipal year.

4 Declarations of Interest

Any new Declarations of Interest are to be reported and recorded.

5 **Minutes of the previous meeting** (Pages 9 - 16)

To agree the minutes of the meeting held on 12th March 2021 as a correct record.

6 Public Questions

The Chair will allow members of the public to present a petition on any matter within the Committee's remit. Questions or statements about any matter on the agenda for this meeting will be taken at the time when each matter is considered.

7 Chair and LEP Updates (Pages 17 - 22)

Cllr Val Keitch (Chair) and a representative of the HotSW Local Enterprise Partnership are to give an update to the Committee.

8 **Progress Report on Delivery** (Pages 23 - 28)

To receive the report.

9 Housing Task Force Update (Pages 29 - 32)

To consider the report introduced by Stephen Walford, Chief Executive, Mid Devon District Council.

10 Coastal Productivity Plan (Pages 33 - 34)

To receive the report by Mark Hammett, Strategic Support Manager, Torbay Council.

11 **HEROG** (Pages 35 - 38)

To receive the report presented by Phil Norrey, Chief Executive for Devon County Council.

12 **Peninsula Transport**

To receive a powerpoint presentation.

13 **HotSW CSR Asks** (Pages 39 - 48)

To consider the final letter presented by LEP.

14 Any other urgent business

Any other urgent business the Chair agrees.

15 Date of the next meeting

All to agree the dates of 2022 HotSW meetings as below. The venue is to be confirmed.

Friday 4th February 2022 Friday 25th March 2022 Friday 24th June 2022 Friday 30th September 2022